NAR Leaders Are Well-Represented in Power Rankings

January 18, 2018

Pres. Elizabeth Mendenhall

Elizabeth Mendenhall has become the first president of the National Association of REALTORS® to make a repeat appearance on the annual Swanepoel Power 200 list of the most powerful leaders in residential real estate. Mendenhall, a sixth-generation REALTOR®, is the CEO of RE/MAX Boone Realty in Columbia, Missouri, and has been a REALTOR® for more than 20 years. The 2018 NAR president leaped from 195 in 2017 to 50 on this year’s list. She is among 44 women included in the power ranks. 

NAR CEO Bob Goldberg, who became chief executive in August after two decades in senior management with the association, has risen to the number 8 spot after three years among the top 30.

The Swanepoel Power 200, an annual ranking of the 200 most powerful executives and thought leaders in the residential real estate brokerage industry, has recognized numerous NAR leaders for their influence and achievement in the real estate industry. More than 400 hours are spent annually analyzing hundreds of biographies, announcement, annual reports, and transaction and sales volume data to develop the list, according to T3 Sixty, the influential real consulting group run by Stefan Swanepoel. 

The industry has a new number 1 in the rankings, with Gary Keller climbing two slots from number 3 last year. Keller is co-founder and chairman of Keller Williams Realty International and the strategic architect in the company’s enormous growth. Rounding out the top 10 are: 

2. Spencer Rascoff: CEO, Zillow Group
3. Ron Peltier: Chairman and CEO, HomeServices of America 
4. Dave Liniger: Co-founder, chairman, and CEO, RE/MAX
5. Ryan M. Schneider: President and CEO, Realogy Holdings Corp.
6. Bruce Zipf: President and CEO, NRT 
7. John Davis: CEO, Keller Williams International
8. Bob Goldberg: CEO, National Association of REALTORS®
9. Glenn Kellman: President and CEO, Redfin
10. Ryan O’Hara: President and CEO, Move Inc.

Members of NAR’s executive and leadership teams joined Mendenhall and Goldberg on SP200’s list, including Dale Ross, president and CEO of NAR’s subsidiary Realtors Property Resource®; Jerry Giovaniello, chief lobbyist; Lawrence Yun, senior vice president and chief economist; Katie Johnson, senior vice president and general counsel; Matt Lombardi, senior vice president, marketing, communications and events; Mark Lesswing, senior vice president and chief technology officer; and Janet Branton, senior vice president, commercial and global real estate.

Local and state association leaders named to the list include Bob Hale, president and CEO of the Houston Association of REALTORS®; Joel Singer, CEO of the California Association of REALTORS®; Travis Kessler, CEO of the Texas association of REALTORS®; and Bill Martin, CEO of Florida REALTORS®.

—Wendy Cole, REALTOR® Magazine