10 Facts About the NAR Code of Ethics

March 1, 2005
  1. Establishing ethical standards for real estate practitioners was the reason for organizing the national association.
  2. The Code of Ethics—adopted in 1913—was one of the first codifications of ethical duties adopted by any business group and was modeled on ethical codes of physicians, engineers, and lawyers.
  3. The Code was the precursor to state license laws.
  4. The Code embodies the “Golden Rule.”
  5. The Code ensures that consumers are served by requiring REALTORS® to cooperate with each other in furthering clients’ best interests.
  6. The Code demands respect for others’ exclusive relationships with clients.
  7. The Code keeps disputes between members “in the family” by requiring REALTORS® to arbitrate.
  8. The Code consists of 17 Articles, 71 supporting Standards of Practice, and 131 explanatory case interpretations.
  9. The Code is enforced at the local level through knowledgeable peer panels.
  10. The Code is a living document subject to ongoing review to ensure it stays relevant. An updated version appears every January in REALTOR® Magazine.

Source: NAR’s Professional Standards Committee

For the Code of Ethics and Arbitration Manual and related products, including the “Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice Pamphlet” (Item #166-288), “Professionalism in Real Estate Practice Booklet” (Item #166-1113), and the Code of Ethics Bookmarker, (Item #166-134), visit REALTOR.org/store.