23 Federal Laws That Affect Residential Sales

Residential real estate has become more complex over the years as a result of laws enacted to protect consumers’ welfare. Here are 23 federal laws that play a part in residential real estate. The list is not exhaustive, but it provides an idea of how much of the real estate transaction falls under federal regulation.

March 1, 2012




1.            Do Not Call Act
2.            Junk Fax Prevention Act
3.            CAN-SPAM Act

Advertising & Promoting

4.            Mortgage Acts and Practices
5.            Mortgage Assistance Relief Services

Listing & Showing

6.            Residential Lead-Based Paint Hazard Reduction Act
7.            Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act (Fair Housing) 

Earnest Money

8.            USA Patriot Act


9.            Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act
10.          Financial Institutions Reform,   Recovery, and Enforcement Act


11.          National Flood Insurance Program


12.          Mortgage Reform and  Anti-Predatory Lending  Act
13.          Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act
14.          Community Reinvestment Act
15.          Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act
16.          Truth in Lending Act
17.          Equal Opportunity Act
18.          Fair Credit Reporting Act
19.          Home Ownership and Equity Protection Act Income Tax
20.          Schedule C: Profit or Loss from Business
21.          Mortgage Interest Deduction
22.          Capital Gains Exclusion


23.          Home Mortgage Disclosure

How well do you know these laws? Check out the infographic of 23 Federal Laws That Apply to Real Estate Sales.

Robert Freedman

Robert Freedman is the former director of multimedia communications at NAR.